Interview with Tyler Boone

It all changed when Tyler got his first Fender … now he's pushing 75 million streams.

Tyler got into music at a super young age. He picked up a guitar in high school sophomore year. Tyler played in garage metal bands, but when his father gave him a Fender Strat for a High School graduation gift it all changed.

Fast forward 12 years later, I'm now Tyler is living in Los Angeles, owns a record label, has his own bourbon brand and is constantly putting out music. His next goal is to hit 75 million streams so he can finally have that GOLD digital single 🏆

Tyler Boone on stage with guitar

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about?

My latest release is a remix of my original alt/rock track Gettin' High - I find it very interesting and fun to release remixes of my own music. More opportunities for play-listing & reaching more people in the pop world. The song is about my move to Los Angeles and the constant struggles you face as an indie musician and celebrating the wins along the way.

How did you record it?

We recorded the original version as a three rock piece band in Los Angeles at my friend's studio (Paul Ill) and was mixed with Eric Bass of Shinedown. The remix was created by Majeed Fick (he's done 2 previous remixes for me in the past).

How did you distribute it?

Under my own label "Artist Formula Record Group" with KMG (powered by The Orchard) all under The Royalty Network.

Tyler Boone performing on stage with electric guitar

How did you promote it?

With our own Spotify third-party playlists. We control some of the biggest lists curated by third-parties on Spotify.

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading?

Stay ahead on streaming, it's what everyone is focused on.

What's the most important thing missing from Songwhip?

If artists can add their website links to their profiles, that would be great.

Tyler Boone sitting against stormy sky with acoustic guitar

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?

I look up to a lot of artists. Guitarists such as Jimi Hendrix, Doyle Bramhall II, Gary Clark Jr., John Mayer

What artist tools/services can't you live without?

I love the feature of just sharing our link and all the stores are available.

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work/produce music?

Get up every day at 8 am and start working. Treat this as a full-time job.

Tyler Boone in the desert with denim jacket on

Anything else you'd like to plug?

Check out my music, my label & bourbon below 🥃