Interview with Rafaricho

Rafael (AKA rafaricho), is an indie singer-songwriter, guitarist, and pianist who grew up near Sheffield, England. His mother is a pianist and when he was just 4 years old he started taking piano lessons. Playing the piano at such a young age ensured the music was a huge influence on his childhood.

As a kid he was always performing at piano concerts and talent shows, which contributes to him being able to play my own songs to people now, helping build confidence and to take pride in his work and successes.

When he started learning guitar and to sing, he realized how important his musical upbringing was.

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about?

Run away” came out in January 2021, I wrote it with my friend Anna Winstanley who is a songwriter. It was written about a typical teenage high school couple starting to want independence and run away from the unavoidable stresses of teenage life. Writing the music for this song came to me quickly, it's very catchy and simultaneously has a warm, natural sound and feeling to it.

How did you record it?

I recorded "Run away" at home in my little studio, it was satisfying to record and produce as I had all the time in the world, and could also improvise the lyrics and music as I went along when needed.

How did you distribute & promote it?

I distributed my first single to streaming platforms with Repost by SoundCloud, I was happy to finally be able to get my song out there instead of just being stuck with SoundCloud and YouTube and sending links to friends and family. I promoted my song with Instagram promotions and Facebook promotions etc. Which seemed to work well. I’m also grateful to my friends and family who share my song as well.

Rafael holding a guitar

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading?

The current situation the world is in is definitely going to impact and change the way the music industry runs, but since everyone has been at home for a long time, a lot of new musicians have come about. Using the time to concentrate on music and learn instruments, me being included in that group!

We’ve learned to find other ways to share music and share our feelings and thoughts with music, online, for the time being. The future of live music is going to change, but maybe all this online exposure will help musicians and help the music industry recover.

What's the most important thing missing from Songwhip?

Songwhip is a very clever idea, it's very helpful to me and is crucial for getting people to know about me and my music. Just one thing - more people need to know about it, as it definitely helps new and upcoming musicians get exposure and listeners.

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?

There are many artists who have inspired me to make music, from famous bands like the Arctic Monkeys to small artists like Indie pop artist Gabriel Templar. The biggest influence however is Bang Bang Romeo, my brother in law Ross Cameron is the lead guitarist of Bang Bang Romeo and has supported me whilst I’ve been starting my music career. Alex Turner’s Submarine album has given me inspiration for more upcoming songs I’m currently working on and writing.

Rafael playing the Piano during christmas

What artist tools/services can't you live without?

My guitar is my physical expression of my personality. When I play guitar I feel content, without it, I’d feel like I’m missing something. The same feeling as when you go to the store and forget your wallet.

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work/produce music?

Believe in yourself and don’t be hesitant to put yourself out there. Stay positive and optimistic, and then don’t let anything put you down. Express yourself the way YOU want to express yourself.

Rafeal standing  on grass field path

Anything else you'd like to plug?

Instagram - instagram.com/rafaricho
Official website - www.rafaricho.co.uk