Interview with Patrick D.J. Williams

Artist come entrepreneur shares his stories and tips from a life in music

Give an introduction to yourself, how you got into music, where you are today and where you'd like to be

My birth name is Patrick D.J. Williams  which is also my main music alias, those who know me call me Legit because I started Legit. Clothing. I was born to do music, my family says I was beat boxing before I was talking. As a child I was featured in Gerber magazine & did missionary work in Africa, it was said that my destiny is to lead worship for God. Much easier said than done. When coming back to America, I had one goal in mind, to succeed.

As of 2020, I have owned my design & merch business for 16 years , originally started as a way to earn money from my music. Throughout that time my main focus was helping other artist succeed through providing them with superior merch and viral marketing strategies. As of today, my music has been featured on Discover Weekly and several popular playlists including the Songwhip playlist which I proudly help curate.

I actually just uploaded my music to Spotify, Apple and YouTube just last year so the whole streaming income is new for me. Some of my songs are over years old, I get a kick out of knowing my old stuff competes with all this new stuff. I saw a song that was nearly 7 years old make it onto popular Spotify playlists, I realised the new way to get passive residual income from passion. Over the years, Ive developed unique partnerships throughout the world, I enjoy being in the background, a team player that wants to see everybody win. I consider myself to be a major part of Songwhip and intend on leading the brand to an IPO. 

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about?

My latest release that actually made an impact is "Welcome To Vegas Theme Song" ... its a lyrical kick back song with a blast from the past vibe. If you listen close you will discover the hidden message.

How did you record it?

Welcome To Vegas Theme Song was recorded at Digital Insights in Las Vegas by Tiga Stylez, my uncle John introduced me and it worked out well. It's actually the same studio that has worked with greats such as Stevie Wonder, Alicia Keys and Kanye West. It was and still is a big deal to me to have been in the same room as the greats. One day, I hope to be comparable to them. 

How did you distribute it?

My distribution was direct, this is before I published onto streaming sites. I had a DJ that worked at OG Strip Club put it in rotation. Other than that, it was hand-to-hand distribution, old school. 

How did you promote it?

My promotion strategy involved a marketing ploy with world famous model, Karrin Rachelle. She agreed to be on the cover and we did a matching apparel series that was handed out in Vegas. The music video was started yet never released due to contract difficulties, since then I have decided to redo the music video. 

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading?

Even saying the industry is in a state of flux, really undermines the artists responsibility to distribute their own music and merch. It seems new artists are relying on other platforms instead of real life, as someone who has designed and printed merch for 16 years, to me well branded merch has always been the answer. 

Which artist do you lookup to the most and why?

Kanye West because his music and business moves are legit. Also, Akon, because be is making moves on solar, crypto-currency and building community. 

What artist tools/services (Songwhip aside 😉) can't you live without?

Weed, Facebook, my phone, the stock market, and my house.

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work?

My advice to other indie artists to help fund their work is, design and sell your own merch. I have a podcast called Shirtbucks that talks about it. Thats my second piece of advice, start a podcast to attract real sponsors. One sponsor can change everything. 

Anything else you'd like to plug?

I'd like to extend my consulting services, my design and printing skills, as well as my web development skills to any artists or brand out there that needs to succeed, check out www.shirtbucks.com or PatrickDJWilliams.com.