Interview with O-Zone The Don

Give an introduction to yourself, how you got into music, where you are today, and where you'd like to be.

This is O-Zone The Don from Oakland Ca, how I got into music I was raised around music all my life, but I started doing music at the age of 13 years old I took music seriously in 2009 when I was 19. So from 13 to now,  I grew a lot. I gain a lot of momentum independently, more season and polished been working the Bay Area Circuit since 2009  and want to continue growing more abroad.

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about?

Latest release, that's gaining momentum is called “Think About Me Feat. Netta Brielle”. The song is focused on how a women feels. Like a woman in a relationship with a dude that's doing whatever in the streets. She's worried about him cause he might not make it back to her, he could get killed or locked up for a long time and all the pain is going to her cause she gotta go through it. All she wants is you to stay with her and change so she can have a life with him and put all that street stuff behind them. 

Me and Jhamel Robinson aka HMTWNHERO wrote that record, really took my time on that. I always wanted to work with Netta Brielle she's my favorite singer in the Bay Area, she just came in and did her thang. 

How did you record it?

I have a home studio I been recording myself since 13. I know how to to keep the levels straight and make sure your vocals don’t peak, then take it to a real professional music studio to get it mixed and mastered right (this how you save money in a professional studio).

How did you distribute it?            

I used CD Baby and Vydia to distribute.

How did you promote it?

Put the music on blogs websites like Thizzler, then put the music on all Platforms I can put it on then just put pay for ads like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter.

o-zone the don performing in a stage show

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading?

I see a lot of mainstream artists going independent which is a good thing, you get to keep your masters and own all your stuff. I'm from the Bay Area we are known for independent music and hustle, so that nothing new.  But being independent you gotta do the work yourself, spend the money on yourself to promote the product so it depends on the artist. Some artists rather have the big labels do the work and take most of the money. I'm fine with being independent and keeping my work.

What's the most important thing missing from Songwhip?

I see Songwhip added the social media part that important other than that I wouldn’t change a thing it's a good platform to use.

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?        

It's a few artists I look up to of course I gotta look up to E-40 and Too Short cause they paved the way in the Bay Area. I look up to 2Pac cause he raps with passion. Nas was the first artist I listened to that made me fall in love with the culture when I was 12.

What artist tools/services can't you live without?

First and foremost learn how to sell your product independently, and networking. Since we in a digital era now it's smart links like a Songwhip to bring all the digital music platforms together cause a lot of people to be on different platforms to listen to music.

o-zone the don in red hoodie

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work/produce music?

Just invest in your self keep going, Master your craft

Anything else you'd like to plug?

Thanks for the interview, if people wanna check me out you can look me up on IG: ozone8200 Twitter @ozone8200, or just Google 'O-Zone The Don'.