Interview with Nikki Briar

The self-promoting country artist and mother of 3 reveals how she made it

Give an introduction to yourself, how you got into music, where you are today and where you'd like to be.

Nikki Briar is a CMA country recording artist from New Jersey. She is a new mom of 3 boys, an army wife, animal advocate and singer-songwriter. She recently released her 8th radio single and currently has over 25 songs released and streaming. She's been honoured to perform all over the country and tour with artists who have truly inspired her such as Tim McGraw, Rodney Atkins, The Marshall Tucker Band, Lorrie Morgan, Lindsey Ell, Blackberry Smoke, Lee Brice, Chris Janson and many more.

Nikki with her two boys

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about?

My latest single is MAMA'S BOY written for my baby boys. I wrote it during the pandemic along with a whole 5 song EP entitled FOREVER YOUNG, which is the next track being released soon! MAMA'S BOY is about the joy and fun of motherhood and how I had to sacrifice closet space that was for my clothes and boots for toys and baby stuff! 

How did you record it?

This EP was recorded in my hometown in NJ being we could not travel to Nashville at the time due to the virus. I am beyond proud of the production which is Sonoma Beach Productions! I distributed it using Tunecore.

Nikki on stage with mic

How did you promote it?

My record label does all of my promotional work and I do self-promoting as well. It is helpful to buy ads on social media too and send out emails to fans on my list.

What's the most important thing missing from Songwhip?

Songwhip has been extremely helpful being a ONE STOP SHOP for fans who don't need to be bombarded with the numerous links to stream. Having one site take you to all options is wonderful!

Nikki performing on stage with guitar

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?

I look up to anyone else working hard and who is driven by passion, no matter what field of work they are in! I admire those who are in it for the right reasons and not for money and fortune. I love music, it has been a family member since birth being both my parents are musicians and were touring musicians so it was inevitable for me. I want to share music and tell a story that others can relate to.

Nikki singing on stage

What artist tools/services can't you live without?

Social media has been wonderful for the last 11 years. I am on all platforms and get to connect with fans regularly which is a blessing! I have enjoyed doing numerous live streaming performances during the pandemic and letting fans know I am still working hard to keep them entertained.

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work?

Just to realize it is a life long investment and you will have many struggles but if the passion is there, nothing should stand in your way!