Interview with Lee Leprechaun

Give an introduction to yourself, how you got into music, where you are today and where you'd like to be.

My name is Collin and I got into music because most of my friends were already involved. Watching them fueled my passion.  It excites me and I fell in love with keeping people entertained on the dance floor. Over time, I picked up a lot of tips and techniques from my friends.  As time passed, a lot of my friends had to stop their music career for one reason or another so I made sure to keep at it.  I've accomplished a lot in the last few years but I'm nowhere near where I'd like to be. I hope to be on festival line ups all over the world one day, entertaining the largest crowds and creating a positive experience for a lot of people. 

Lee Leprechaun new music

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about? 

My latest release is entitled 'Scream Inside Your Heart'.  It’s my first full-length album that I've spent most of 2020 working on. Since I have not been able to perform at any events due to the Covid-19 pandemic, I decided to focus my time on making this album. I was able to harness how my true feelings while showcasing my growth as a producer. 

How did you record it?

The entire album was made in Logic Pro X

How did you distribute it?

I teamed up with my label home One City Music Group. 

Lee Leprechaun at a rock concert

How did you promote it?

I make a lot of my own content for promotion. I've made promo clips for each song to give a small taste of what's to come. A big focus for me is engaging with my supporters on all social media platforms. I just want to show thanks and gratitude to the people who have supported me this far.  

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading? 

Right now it’s all about accepting change and adapting as creatively and as safely as you can. I kind of feel like drive-in shows will be the new norm until life gets back to normal. 

What's the most important thing missing from Songwhip? 

Nothing that I can think of at the moment. Songwhip is super helpful because it makes it easier for people to find my music on the favourite platform.  Just one link and you have access to my catalogue in all major digital stores. That’s amazing!

Lee Leprechaun standing

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?

I'm a huge fan of Drezo. I love his dark house sounds. Makes you feel like you're deep underground with nothing but the bass pulsing through you.

What artist tools/services (*Songwhip* aside) can't you live without?

The serum is a MUST have. Pretty much every sound I’ve created started in serum in some way or another.

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work/produce music? 

Open your DAW daily. Doesn't matter if you have it open for 5mins or hours. It will help you entirely. I'll sit down to mess with the eq of a sound and end spending hour working on a track. Just by opening it daily and hearing your sound helps motivate a person to get it to work.

Joy of performing

Anything else you'd like to plug?

You can find all my info at leeleprechaun.com if interested.
songwhip.com/lee-leprechaun