Interview with Feed Your Wolves

English acoustic singer/songwriter talks of self producing and being in the game for the right reasons

My name is Andy Davidson and I’m a musician/singer/songwriter from the North East of England. I started a solo music project in the Spring of 2019 called Feed Your Wolves, which allows me to write and release music the way I had always hoped. I released my debut album Save Yourself in December 2019, a 16 track album which I wrote, recorded, and produced myself.

I first took to music from a very early age and it only progressed as years went on. I used to write songs on my Great Uncle’s keyboard when we visited when I was a kid and taught myself chords on a left-handed guitar. I just want to write music that people like, can change the way they feel and be heard amongst many. I’m really hoping to get out this year with my band and play some gigs. 

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about?

Hurricane is the latest Release which is a 6 track EP telling the story of sorrow, hopelessness, and loss. The lyrics tell the story for each record and they were written straight from the soul.

“Just like a hurricane,
It’s going to rip away
Every piece of me
Until I can’t breathe”

With the help of my media partners, Songbird Films, and Daz Mack, we shot a video for my latest track I’ve Been Waiting For You out in the local countryside. You can hear both Save Yourself and Hurricane on any streaming platform.

Andy Davison in a concert

How did you record it?

The whole EP was written, recorded, produced, and mastered by myself in my home studio. I use Logic Pro X as my Daw with various plugins and a UAD interface. With the help of my hired gun ‘James Henderson’, I was able to track the guitars using a mesa amp mic’d and other smaller parts were direct to digital through the kemper profiler. Vocals were recorded in a makeshift vocal booth using a very large cardboard box and a sleeping bag. The drums were all played live through a drum sim. I use different sims for different sounds so I can’t pin one down for you. Bass is recorded DI through a La2A and all synth/piano/orchestral parts were played in through my midi controller. 

How did you distribute and promote it?

I use a distribution company to deliver the EP to stores which cover all the major platforms including Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon, Deezer, etc … and hard copies were designed by myself and then printed and shipped. 

Promotion is a tricky one as I feel it’s a very saturated market now but I just do my best by sending the tracks off to radio shows, applying for playlists and of course making my own marketing campaign on social media. 

Andy Davidson playing with a guitar

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading?

Unfortunately, music doesn’t mean to people what it used to. Back in the '60s, 70’s and 80’s music was an extension of who you were. Part of your image and you were proud to go out and buy the album on vinyl or Tape. It’s too easy now. For £9.99 per month, you have access to millions upon millions of artists and songs that underdogs don’t really get much of a look in. Bigger marketing budgets, bigger labels, and ultimately money wins the crop. 

What's the most important thing missing from Songwhip?

Songwhip is great, but I would have to say 'exposure'. We need to get the word out there more. 

Feed Your Wolves on vinyl in a physical store

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?

All of them. Simply put. Any artist you have heard of … managed to get their song and story into your ears. That in itself is admirable. Musicianship wise I love Bon Iver. I can just feel their music. It really changes the way I feel and takes me somewhere else. That’s the best I can hope for with my own music. 

What artist tools/services can't you live without?

I would love to be able to record fully analog, but that just isn’t the way things get done anymore. So that said, I couldn’t live without any of it, but every song I write starts with an Acoustic Guitar. 

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work/produce music?

Don’t do it!! Lol. No seriously, if you are in the game because you want to be rich and famous … just stop now. If you are in the game because you love music, it’s your passion, and that final record master coming through is payment in itself, then go for it. I do it because simply, it makes me happy. It gives me a feeling inside like no other and takes me to a place I have only ever experienced when listening to music. 

Andy Davidson holding a mic

Anything else you'd like to plug?

Sure, always looking for a plug opportunity. Check out my YouTube channel to see some promo videos, behind the scenes, and official music video releases. Just search ‘Feed Your Wolves’. 
Instagram: /feedyourwolves
Facebook: /feedyourwolves
Twitter: /feedyourwolves