Interview with Dan Swift

Give an introduction to yourself, how you got into music, where you are today, and where you'd like to be.

My Name is Dan Swift and I have been involved in music from as early as 10/11 I used to sing when I was younger but as I aged I took a liking to UK Rap and especially the underground scene. I've only just started off by releasing music. I have two tracks at the moment with a New Track on the way and A EP later on in the year.

Tell us about your latest release, what's it about?

My latest release is "Paperchase" and it has been out for a couple of weeks. This is my second release after my first song released was “Fruity”. I talk about chasing the money to progress in the future and how I can't wait around for it. 

How did you record it?

It was recorded in my home city of Newcastle in the studio with my friend/producer Tadis, he also made the previous track and has worked with a range of other artists. We were messing about with samples until we came across the sample we used for Paperchase.

How did you distribute it?

I am an independent artist so I decided to create my own label with a Group of my friends called 'Calm on the sticks' AKA COTS. Tadis who is a part of cots introduced me to a distributor and that's how I got it out!

Sticker of Paperchase on a telephone booth

How did you promote it?

I promoted my social media account Danswiftx (Instagram & Twitter) I also put up stickers all around Newcastle and the cities close by such as Durham/south and north shields on the night of its release so people would see them the next day all around the towns. It gave a real boost to my Spotify and SoundCloud.

Dan swift holding lighter

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading?

With the Covid situation, a lot of artists have free time to create more music but with nothing to do and being in lockdown, it’s hard to be creative and feel as passionate about creating. When this goes away I think then the music scene will change in a positive way. I’m just hoping that show can go ahead since I’m most excited to perform.

What's the most important thing missing from Songwhip?

I think Songwhip is a great app and easy to use the only thing I think needs to improve is to allow upload on any photo when I first used it I found it hard to upload the photos I wanted apart from that I think is great!

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?

There are a lot of artists I look up to for different reasons. I like a house of Pharaohs for how down to earth they are and how relatable they are but Skepta is my favorite artist I’ve been a fan ever since 2016 I love his style and flow and the insane beats that he creates he’s done a range of style and genre and that’s what I’m aiming for to make music in the genre I like. 

What artist tools/services can't you live without?

The tool I use the most is FL Studio, I use it as much as possible if that's for making a beat on the go or mixing and recording in the studio. It's a software I'm comfortable with and definitely the most helpful tool I've got for music.

What is your advice to other artists to help fund their work/produce music?

Just keep practicing and make sure you feel happy with how it sounds you’ll know the standard of work you want to release it too. Soundcloud and YouTube are free platforms to release to when starting off. The first track I put on SoundCloud since it’s free just to build an audience.

Anything else you'd like to plug?

Look out for my next track “Cubs” and the EP later this year.