Interview with Chasen

Chart topping hits made from his closet studio, this Christian indie artist shares his story

Give an introduction to yourself

Hey, there my name is Chasen Callahan and I have been in the music industry for almost 20 years. I started when I was a teenager and have worked my way up signing with labels touring all over the world and making music. I’m married to my high school sweetheart, I have three kids and I am one of the pastors and a creative at my local church called Marathon Church in Greenville South Carolina.

I’m currently located in Greenville but back and forth to Nashville (my home away from home) working on some new music and a new sound with my producer Carter Frodge. I used to travel with a band consistently, three other guys Jared, Evan & Aaron and now this will be the first major solo project that I’ve ever done so that’s exciting and crazy all in one. 

I’ve had a somewhat major success on Christian radio, two number ones and a few top five hits. All that to say I would like to see this current project be as successful if not more. Whatever that looks like, that can be radio or that could be well known. I don’t know what the future may hold with this but I still would like for this project and my artistry now to be as impactful as I had been before.

Tell us about your latest release, what’s it about?

My latest release is a song called Running. This was one of the first songs I produced out for my next album being released this Summer 2021. This song is a cry to action. There’s a book of the Bible, Romans 7:15 that says I don’t understand myself. I do the things I shouldn’t do and don’t do what I should. 

Coming from someone who struggles with a bit of Mental illness this concept is exhausting. I found myself in a place wherein in my past I’ve found comfort and peace in an almighty God. I’ve witnessed it for myself. And so when this comes up over and over the only place I know to run is to God where I’ve experienced relief, forgiveness, expectancy, and so on.  So with this song, I wrote it in a place of honesty as I cry out for redemption. 

Chasen wearing denim jacket

How did you record it?

This was a fun one to record. Started in my 2013 Toyota Tundra on a backroad and the voices in my head started bringing up my past. I heard this beat sample and started humming a melody. I went home to my closet studio and demoed out a rough. Sent it to my producer and started the recording process in Nashville. We did live drums in my home studio here in Greenville SC. My old bass player played bass on it in his home studio in GA. We sent it all back to Nashville and produced it out more did vocals there and then sent it to our mixer Chuck Butler to have it mixed and finalized. 

How did you distribute it?

We went through Distrokid for this release. We are talking through different label distribution with several labels but nothing has felt right so we decided let's go indie and see what happens until we find the right team. 

How did you promote it?

Using social media and people like Songwhip to get the word out. We are putting together a marketing plan for future releases but this music world in which we live is a very competitive market but you got to start somewhere. 

Chasen playing with guitar

The music industry is in a state of flux right now, where do you see it heading?

This is a hard one. It’s always changing for sure. Streaming will still play a huge role but I think it will evolve back in some ways with how we listen. I have a gut feeling radio will not be gone but will be affected in a big way and not as the prominent audience. When I’m not sure but those are just some thoughts. 

What’s the most important thing missing from Songwhip?

So far it’s great I need to spend some more time with it to really give it a solid review. I appreciate what you all are doing. It really helped me out for sure as an indie artist. 

Which artist do you look up to the most and why?

That’s such a hard answer. I have so many but one consistent is Jon Forman. He’s been a big role model and someone that shows speaking from the heart pays off. There are other artists that have definitely shaped the kind of artist I am today like Andy Grammer, Matt Hammet, Ryan Tedder (One Republic). There’s a lot of influences for sure.

I’d say Jon Forman from Switchfoot. Like I said I feel He shows that being Honest is the best place as an artist and human. He’s very consistent. I’ve toured with him and he and the rest of the band are as true and kind as they come. Great guys.

Chasen in recording studio

What artist tools/services can’t you live without?

Logic Pro, Ableton, streaming platform (as of now) iPhone MacBook Pro. 

What is your advice to other indie artists to help fund their work/produce music?

Don’t beg, Work hard, don’t stop,  Network network network. & think outside of the normal. 

Anything else you'd like to plug

My new album will be released later this summer we will have one more single before the whole thing is released.  For more details and to stay updated fine me on Instagram @Chasenc or Facebook @Chasenmusic